List of experts under AQD’s thematic programs

 

Meeting social and economic challenges in aquaculture
The program aims to enhance the role of aquaculture in improving livelihood and food security; support the sustainability of the environment and resources; and identify relevant policies, infrastructure and linkages
Salayo, Nerissa
PhD (Economics) ndsalayo@seafdec.org.ph
Aralar, Emiliano1
BSc Chemical Engineering evaralar@seafdec.org.ph
Quality seed for sustainable aquaculture
The program covers studies and activities that will generate, verify and promote technologies to ensure the sustainable production of quality seedstock for aquaculture as well as for stock enhancement
Romana-Eguia, Ma. Rowena1
PhD Agricultural Science
(Fish Population Genetics)
mreguia@seafdec.org.ph
Altamirano, Jon2
PhD Agriculture (Fisheries Science) jaltamirano@seafdec.org.ph
Aya, Frolan1
PhD Biosphere Science faya@seafdec.org.ph
Cuvin-Aralar, Ma. Lourdes1 Dr. Sc. Agr. (Doktor der Agrarwissenschaften) mlcaralar@seafdec.org.ph
de Jesus-Ayson, Evelyn Grace3 D. Sc. (Zoology) edjayson@seafdec.org.ph
Parado-Estepa, Fe Dolores4 PhD Fisheries Science fpestepa@seafdec.org.ph
Quinitio, Emilia4 D. Sc. Fisheries Science etquinit@seafdec.org.ph
Buen-Ursua, Shelah Mae3 PhD Marine Life Science smbuen@seafdec.org.ph
de la Peña, Milagros5 MSc (Marine Biology) miladp@seafdec.org.ph
Luhan, Maria Rovilla6 MSc Fisheries (Aquaculture) mrjluhan@seafdec.org.ph
Bayona, Nestor5 BSc Fisheries nbayona@seafdec.org.ph
Santander-Avanceña, Sheryll6 MSc Biology ssantander@seafdec.org.ph
Healthy and wholesome aquaculture
The strategies invoked in this program concentrate on nutrition to promote healthy farmed aquatic animals; disease diagnosis, control, monitoring and surveillance of aquatic animals; and environmental integrity, certification and food safety
Tendencia, Eleonor D.Sc. (Aquaculture & Fisheries) gigi@seafdec.org.ph
Pakingking, Rolando Jr
PhD Applied Biological Science (Fish Pathobiology) rpakingking@seafdec.org.ph
Amar, Edgar
PhD (Aquatic Sciences) eamar@seafdec.org.ph
Catacutan, Mae
PhD. Fisheries Science mrc@seafdec.org.ph
de Jesus-Ayson, Evelyn Grace3
D. Sc. (Zoology) edjayson@seafdec.org.ph
de la Peña, Leobert
PhD (Fish Pathology) leobertd@seafdec.org.ph
Quinitio, Emilia4
D. Sc. Fisheries Science etquinit@seafdec.org.ph
Mamauag, Roger Edward PhD Fisheries Science ermamauag@seafdec.org.ph
Arnaiz, Margarita MSc Chemical Engineering mtarnaiz@seafdec.org.ph
Ladja, Jocelyn M Aquaculture joladja@seafdec.org.ph
Laranja, Joseph Leopoldo4 MSc Aquaculture jllaranja@seafdec.org.ph
Pagador, Gregoria MS Tropical Fish Health gepagador@seafdec.org.ph
Nakayasu, Chihaya PhD Fisheries Science cnakayasu@seafdec.org.ph
Maintaining environmental integrity through responsible aquaculture
The program focuses on the impacts of aquaculture on the environment and how to minimize them. It also aims to develop environment-based aquaculture technology by integrating environmental factors in SEAFDEC/AQD research activities
Cuvin-Aralar, Ma. Lourdes1
Dr. Sc. Agr. (Doktor der Agrarwissenschaften) mlcaralar@seafdec.org.ph
Altamirano, Jon2
PhD Agriculture (Fisheries Science) jaltamirano@seafdec.org.ph
Lebata-Ramos, Ma. Junemie Hazel
PhD (Ocean Sciences) jlebata@seafdec.org.ph
Romana-Eguia, Ma. Rowena1
PhD Agricultural Science
(Fish Population Genetics)
mreguia@seafdec.org.ph
Climate Change
The program aims to identify the accompanying changes in the environment brought about by the changing climate that may affect the aquaculture sector, and prepare the sector for the possible effects that these changes may have on aquaculture operations
Training & information, extension
AQD packages and conducts training courses for all its stakeholders; publishes farmer-friendly manuals and a monthly newsletter; and operates an aquaculture library and an environment education center called FishWorld. For farmers and communities seeking technical assistance, there are two mechanisms: ABOT Aquanegosyo (Agree-build-operate-transfer AquaBusiness) and ICDSA (Institutional capacity development for sustainable aquaculture)
Amar, Edgar
PhD (Aquatic Sciences) eamar@seafdec.org.ph
Alayon, Stephen M Education (Mathematics) sbalayon@seafdec.org.ph
Dianala, Rex Delsar MSc Fisheries (Aquaculture) rddianala@seafdec.org.ph

COMMODITY EXPERTISE

1Freshwater fishes
2Sandfish / sea cucumber
3Marine fishes
4Shrimp / mud crab
5Abalone / molluscs
6Seaweeds

Translate »